Wade Into Water

Incoming oceanic

tide swallows

my thighs, sucks me

down.

.

I relent,

recline;

arms spread –

angelic starfish.

.

Eyes closed to scorching sun,

waves carry me –

child’s rollercoaster;

gentle dips,

subtle rises.

.

Mind a-

drift, body be-

calmed.

.

Shoreline a smear,

distant streak of horizon

and then the

.

Yank.

.

Claws that cling,

scratch, shred and pull

me

.

Down

and away.

.

Away from the sun,

from the sweet breath

of life.  Choking and gulping,

briny death attacks me.

.

Copyright © 2016 Hannah Edge.  All rights reserved.

Standard

Leave a Reply

